Work – Life Imbalance

Eighteen months ago, I took a job I would not have considered for a moment just two years earlier.  However, I entered a new phase in my life.  I wanted to achieve the elusive work/life balance we hear so much about.  You know – go to work, give it 100% for eight to ten hours then go home and still have enough time to do the things that excite you. 

My current predicament..

Here I am, these many months later, still tipping the scales in favor of my corporate responsibilities.

My home office is full of half-finished projects; partially completed blog posts, short stories waiting for a happily ever after, and a young adult novel ready for rewrites.  A novel is nestled beside my bed. I read about a page a night; at this rate I will finish and write a review by 2022!

I swear, thoughts like this ran through my head the whole time I was on vacation..

Dust is collecting on my elliptical and my walking shoes are dry-rotting while my buttocks flatten and widen from the many hours spent in a chair at my desk.

I am living with the guilt of missed deadlines.  By the time I get my Cruise Updates posted they will be stale and no one will be interested.  My genealogy followers probably think I have the shortest family tree in history!

This is real life.  These are the challenges part-time writers and bloggers face.

The projects I am managing at my 9 – 5 will eventually come to fruition and I will recapture some of the time for myself and the pursuit of personal fulfillment.

I hope my blog followers will bear with me through the pinch!

Thank you for spending some of your valuable time reading my posts.

This entry was posted in General Topics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

