50 is NOT Finished

I had a conversation with a friend yesterday about how it feels to be approaching my 50th birthday and the objective of my Up the Face of 50 posts.  I am glad we had the conversation because it made me revisit my initial intention.

I cannot say that I feel any particular way about my impending milestone birthday.  If pressed, I would say that I feel optimistic.  On occasion, I feel trepidatious.  There are days I think about my mortality; days I consider how long I will be physically able to do the things I like to do.

I do not linger on those thoughts.  Instead, as you’ve read in my previous 50 posts, I decided to do what I can to extend my truly vibrant days for a long as I can. 

My initial goal was to write a blog that demonstrates what a real 50-year-old life is like.  Few of us have achieved the level of super-success most of the women in More© have, nor are we as fit, elegant, and beautiful.

On the other hand, we are not old and haggard.  We have not outlived our virility.  We have not forsaken fashion.  We do not sit on the front porch in a rocking chair waiting for Junior to drop by with the grandkids.

What I want to say to all women everywhere, fifty is not finished!

Want proof?  Read about Cathy Mumford’s 740 mile kayak adventure!

This entry was posted in Up the Face of 50 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 50 is NOT Finished

  1. jonesingafter40 says:

    I just hit 40 and know that 50 will be here before I know it. I like your attitude!

Leave a Reply

