Up the Face of 50 – New Challenges

If I have any regrets in life so far, here they are.

As anyone who knows me will agree, I am a rather reserved individual.  There is very little that frightens me.  I have always believed I could do most anything – if I would only allow myself.  I have always lived within a self-made shell – behind an invisible shield.  There is nothing (almost) within the perimeter of my safety zone that I will not do.  Problem is – I have always been reluctant to push those boundaries on my own.

Sure, I will follow someone I trust over the fence anytime, but left to my own devices – I am not going there. 

So here is the thing – I don’t have time to waste waiting for someone else to go along with me on my next adventure.  I’ve got to start going it alone.

The second regret I have is that I have stopped pushing myself physically.  Laziness, complacency, or plain lack of motivation, it doesn’t matter.  What does matter is that I am not as physically active as I aspire to be.

Over the past month(s) I’ve given some thought to these little regrets and contemplated what I could do about them.  Here is what I am going to do.

Over the next 50 weeks, I am going to challenge myself to do something new and/or different each week.  Here is how it will work.  Each Monday, in my Up the Face of 50 post, I will list one physical challenge and one intellectual challenge for myself for that week.  The following Monday, I will post my results along with that week’s challenges.

My goal is to feel more Lusty, more alive, more knowledgeable, and more vibrant on my 50th birthday. 

Just in case there is anyone out there that wants to push their own limits, I will post a weekly list of suggested challenges for you to try.  Pick one from each of the lists and leave a comment below – next week, check back in a let me know how you did.  Don’t like anything on the list – make up your own.

Don’t worry; there is no such thing as failure here.  The objective is to push ourselves to continually move and grow and to live a life with few regrets.

Are you up to the challenge?

For the week of December 5, 2011, I am challenging myself to:

  • Increase my physical activity by 10 minutes each day – at least
  • Learn how to use Facebook more efficiently

What will you do this week to expand your boundaries?

  • Read a non-fiction book
  • Mediate each day
  • Do something just for the fun of it for 10 minutes each day
  • Clean out your hall closet
  • Make a new recipe for dinner once this week
  • Take a Zumba class

 

This entry was posted in Up the Face of 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Up the Face of 50 – New Challenges

  1. Artie says:

    I just hope whoever writes these keeps wiritng more!

  2. Carole says:

    Physical boundaries, Started P90X, aaarggh, at the easy level is tough. Next week will be away, but for fun will be snorkeling and kayaking with the Manatees.

  3. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have excellent content on your blog.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Content Writers Wanted

  4. annie b says:

    Lynn,
    I LOVE this idea. It is so great to see someone being BOLD and taking risks. Getting older is no time to play it safe!!!!

Leave a Reply

