Victory at Sea – A Cruise Update

We have had a change of plans! One of our travelers was not able to take off the week of March 31, so we will not be cruising on the Carnival Dream after all.  Instead, we will be plying the Caribbean aboard the Carnival Victory.

The Victory is not as large or as new a ship as her sister but she gets decent reviews and the ports of call are more appealing than those of the Dream.  We will be embarking in San Juan, Puerto Rico – I’m excited to return to PR – I haven’t been there in a few years.  We will visit St. Thomas, Barbados, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and St Maarten!

With the exception of a visit I made to St. Thomas, none of us have toured the Southern Caribbean before.  I am looking forward to exploring new places with my husband and 14 y.o. son – along with the rest of our group.

I was not able to book a Cloud 9 Spa Balcony stateroom aboard the Victory.  We opted for a standard balcony on the Empress deck, mid-ship.  I am sure the accommodations will be more than adequate especially since I do not plan to spend a lot of time in the room.

We haven’t booked any of the shore excursions yet, though there are several that look fun.  I know that everyone wants to do one of the zip line tours.  My husband and I zipped through the rain forest in Costa Rica and it was awesome!  I can’t wait to fly again.

We will be toting a 14 year old and an 8 year old, so we will have to be careful when selecting a beach.  We aren’t prudes but the clothing optional areas may cause more pointing and giggling than they are worth.  Not to mention what the kids will do!

This entry was posted in Cruise Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

